PlayStation 5 Showcase set for 8am this Thursday (NZT)

0

The next PlayStation 5 Showcase will stream live from 8am on Thursday, 17 September 2020 (NZT), offering another look at the games that will be coming to Sony’s next home console.

The showcase will run for around 40 minutes, focusing on “updates on the latest titles from Worldwide Studios and our world-class development partners.” We already saw a few of the PlayStation 5’s launch window games in the PS5: Future of Games showcase earlier this year and in announcements from third-party publishers in the months since. Hopefully the latest showcase will have a few new surprises in store.

There are still two big question marks surrounding the PS5: how much will it cost, and when exactly will it launch? Last week, Microsoft announced those details for the Xbox Series X and Xbox Series S—they both launch November 10, at NZD $799 and $549, respectively—ending the game of chicken that Sony and Microsoft have been playing for the last few months. All eyes are now on the PlayStation 5, to see how it’ll compare to Xbox Series X on price and launch date.

Unfortunately, there’s nothing in Sony’s most recent announcement to suggest that Thursday’s showcase will have those answers—it talks only about providing updates on some of the games coming to PS5. I’m sure I’m not the only one who’s still hopeful that we’ll get more information about launch plans for the console itself, but temper your expectations.

The PlayStation 5 Showcase will stream live on Twitch and YouTube from 8am on Thursday, September 17 (NZT) / Wednesday, September 16 at 1pm PDT / 9pm BST / 10pm CEST.

Share.

About Author

Matthew is a writer based in Wellington. He loves all things pop culture, and is fascinated by its place in history and the wider social context.